Governor, Lt. Governor, Speaker Announce Appointments to Regional Water Councils

Councils were created with passage of Statewide Water Management Plan

Governor Sonny Perdue, Lt. Governor Casey Cagle and Speaker of the House Glenn Richardson announced today their selections for members of Georgia’s regional water

planning councils, which will have a key role in the statewide water planning process.
“The individuals we have selected are solution-oriented and will provide visionary water resource planning,” said Governor Perdue. “These appointments reflect a diverse group of Georgians and each one has a unique skill set and knowledge base, which will allow the councils to focus on water resource issues while also addressing the state’s economic needs.”
Tony Bass, an appointee, landscape industry veteran and business owner in Fort Valley, Georgia had this to say about this recent appointment.  “I look forward to contributing to the efforts of wise water management across our state and region.  I promise to keep my community and industry informed on our efforts.”
The Comprehensive Statewide Water Management Plan, approved by the General Assembly in 2008, created ten water planning regions. Each of these regions will have a water planning council to represent the water interests unique to their respective regions.
“Water will remain a key issue for our state and I am very pleased with the group of individuals selected to move forward with a responsible, long-term plan,” said Lt. Governor Cagle. “This list includes well-rounded men and women who expand across industries and regions.  It was an honor to work so closely with Governor Perdue and Speaker Richardson on these nominations and the Comprehensive Statewide Water Management Plan.”
Each council consists of 25 members, three alternates and an ex-officio member from both the House and Senate. The councils include representatives from agriculture, forestry, industry, commerce, local governments, water utilities, regional development centers, tourism, recreation and environmental groups.
“The appointments named today represent Georgians with the right experience and background to serve their region’s water needs,” said Speaker Richardson. “Their service will ensure our water resources are used prudently as we continue to implement water planning and conservation strategies.”
The councils will oversee preparation of regional water development and conservation plans for their planning regions. These plans will focus on both water quantity and water quality issues, and will include forecasts of future water supply and wastewater treatment needs.
Under requirements of the plan, the Governor selects 13 members of each council. In addition, the Governor selects one alternate member who will attend all meetings and vote if needed to establish a quorum.  The Lieutenant Governor and the Speaker of the Georgia House of Representatives select the remaining council members including non-voting ex officio members from the Senate and the House.
GGIA would like to Congratulate the GGIA Members that were selected for this Council.
Name                                      City                             County
Phillip Jennings *              Soperton                   TreutlenCoosa-North Georgia
Name                                      City                             County
Sherry Loudermilk *        Epworth                    Fannin

Lower Flint
Name                                      City                             County
Jerry Lee *                           Cairo                            Grady

Middle Chattahoochee
Name                                      City                             County
Paul Chappell  *                   Pine Mountain       Harris
Aaron McWhorter *           Whitesburg             Carroll

Middle Ocmulgee
Name                                      City                             County
Tony Bass *                          Fort Valley              Peach

Savannah-Upper Ogeechee
Name                                      City                             County
Chris McCorkle *                Warrenton               Warren

Upper Oconee
Name                                      City                             County
Bill Ross   *                            Statham                     Barrow
Alternate Stuart Cofer  *     Watkinsville         Oconee

For more information about this Council and to see all the members Click Here.
Contact Tony Bass at 478-822-9706 or